This Year

This Year
 
I sowed some seeds,
nurtured them,
My greens now stand tall.
Father trunks and
little families of leaves.
They hold our lives
In their store,
I could have planted some more.
 
Helped some women
face the mirror strong,
to let their hair flow long,
to look into sunlit words
not a lifelong marriage bond.
I held my hand out
Only to them four,
Could have taken along some more.
 
I read books,
experienced the honesty in art
it appeals to the heart.
The wealth of wisdom,
an infinite collection
I could have gathered more.
 
Enjoying exploring myself,
I outgrew the frame
my world offered on the shelf.
I refused to be stopped,
Learned to fly.
I could have risen higher. 

Sapna Dubey
3A
English

Leave a Reply

