Interred

I buried my dreams deep inside
Until I had to dig for the poppies and daisies,
And surface with mud-encrusted fingernails.

I let the world dim my light
Now all I’ve got is a lantern,
To guide me to the end of the cave.

Gulab jamun syrup mixing with cold chips
Another year-end of handing pieces of my heart to strangers
While soggy potatoes languish in the bonfire
As an eager child still tries to save them,
As I try to save
The corpse of the years.

Anushmita Mohanty,
English, 1-B
Lady Shri Ram College for Women

Leave a Reply

